Nathan Deal declares state of emergency as Georgia braces for Tropical Storm Hermine

Gov. Nathan Deal announces that he was vetoing religious liberty legislation at a Monday press conference in his ceremonial office. Bob Andres,

Gov. Nathan Deal. Bob Andres,

Gov. Nathan Deal signed an executive order Thursday declaring a state of emergency for 56 counties across much of South Georgia ahead of Tropical Storm Hermine’s imminent Florida landfall.

The state of emergency goes into effect at noon today and extends through midnight Saturday. The storm is set to rumble through Georgia on Saturday.

“We are working to ensure counties in south, central and coastal Georgia have access to the state resources necessary to prepare and respond when Tropical Storm Hermine enters Georgia,” said Deal. “Our Emergency Operations Command will continue closely monitoring this storm and additional counties may be included in this declaration as needed.”

Hermine’s maximum sustained winds Thursday morning were near 65 mph, and federal forecasters said it was likely to be upgraded to a Category 1 hurricane when it makes landfall in Florida on Thursday night or Friday.

The Georgia emergency declaration includes the following counties: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Grady, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Lanier, Laurens, Liberty, Long, Lowndes, McIntosh, Mitchell, Montgomery, Pierce, Richmond, Screven, Seminole, Tattnall, Telfair, Thomas, Tift, Toombs, Treutlen, Turner, Ware, Wayne, Wheeler, Wilcox and Worth counties.

View Comments 0