DNC boosting efforts to turn Georgia blue in November

082116 ATLANTA: A crowd gathers outside the building to listen to ”Scandal" actor Tony Goldwyn speak as he helps open Democratic presidential nominee Hillary Clinton's Georgia campaign headquarters on Sunday, August 21, 2016, in Atlanta. On the hit TV show Goldwyn plays President Fitzgerald Grant, a Republican! Curtis Compton /ccompton@ajc.com

A crowd gathers outside the building to listen to ”Scandal” actor Tony Goldwyn speak as he helps open Democratic presidential nominee Hillary Clinton’s Georgia campaign headquarters on Sunday, August 21, 2016, in Atlanta. Curtis Compton /ccompton@ajc.com

The Democratic National Committee will soon join the presidential fray in Georgia.

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution has learned that the DNC’s southern political director, Morehouse graduate Ron Allen, will relocate to Georgia beginning Monday and will remain through the Nov. 8 election.

The party has also chosen Georgia, along with Arizona and Utah to launch its new Victory Leaders Council program designed to flip states to Democrats and mobilize volunteers and grassroots in current blue states.

Allen, who worked on then U.S. Sen. Barack Obama’s 2008 campaign in Georgia and served as regional political director in North Carolina during the 2012 re-election campaign, will help state party officials with field organization and get-out-the-vote efforts.

The moves come after Hillary Clinton’s campaign has boosted staff, opened a headquarters and committed to sending cash to the state party in an effort to turn Georgia blue in a presidential election for the first time since 1992.

Republican Donald Trump, too, has committed campaign cash to hire Georgia staff and has a campaign headquarters here. His vice presidential nominee, Mike Pence, was here for several days this week campaigning and raising cash.

But, are these incremental steps by the DNC, or a sign that Georgia is, finally, a battleground state?

Not yet, the DNC said, according to a party memo obtained by the AJC.

“We are committed to winning up and down the ticket from the White House to the state houses,” Donna Brazile, interim chairwoman of the Democratic National Committee, said in a statement. “There is a stark choice for voters to make in this election, and Democrats have a historic opportunity and responsibility to help voters see that choice clearly.”

The Victory Leadership Councils include prominent Democrats in each state who will serve as leaders of the campaign. The DNC hopes, however, that the groups live on beyond the election to build the state party and help in midterm elections.

In Georgia, state party 1st vice chair Nikema Williams and Falak Hindash, an aide to House Minority Leader Stacey Abrams, D-Atlanta, will serve as co-coordinators.

The full list includes such bold-faced names as U.S. Rep. John Lewis, D-Atlanta, and legendary baseball player Hank Aaron:

Hank Aaron

Rep. Stacey Abrams

Rep. Kim Alexander

Pinney Allen

Oliver Allen

Emmanuel Avraham

Amber Bailey

John Barrow

Sarah Beeson

Rep. Taylor Bennett

Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander

Prue Benson

Patty Bentley

Robin Biro

Vivian Bishop

Ken Britt

Scott Brown

Molly Burke

Rep. Park Cannon

Kip Carr

Jason Carter

Seth Clark

Max Cleland

Verna Cleveland

Sen. Gail Davenport

Wendy Davis

Stephen Dawkins

Rick Day

Andre Dickens

Rep. Pam Dickerson

Hattie Dorsey

Karl Douglass

John Eaves

DeUndre Eberhart

Angela Eells

Louis Elrod

Rep. Stacey Evans

Vince Farley

Edgar Fields

Shirley Franklin

Gloria Frazier

Glen Paul Freedman

Billy Freeman

Sam Fuller

Anna Gandy

Gordon Giffin

Myesha Good

Rep. Craig Gordon

Kwanza Hall

Dan Halpern

Aaron Harris

Sharne Haywood

Laura Heery

Sen. Steve Henson

Falak Hindash

Rep. Scott Holcomb

Paul Horning

Md. Jahangir Hossain

Robbie S. Huff

Rep. Carolyn Hugley

Elisabeth Huhn

Michael Jablonski

Sen. Lester Jackson

Tharon Johnson

Hank Johnson

Mereda Johnson

Mereda Johnson

Jon Keen

Rep. Dar’shun Kendrick

Lonnie King

John Lewis

Steve Lomax

Brenda Lopez

Rep. Pedro “Pete” Marin

Sen. Valencia Martin Seay

Keith Mason

Darrell Mays

Rep. Dewey McClain

Rep. Billy Mitchell

Caesar Mitchell

Antonio Molina

Ben Myers

Adelina Nicholls

Rep. Mary Margret Oliver

Vincent Olszwieski

Sen. Nan Orrock

Jacob Orvis

Will Palmer

Sen. Elana Parent

Phaedra Parks

Jannquell Peters

Matthew Plott

Dubose Porter

David Poythress

Rep. Brian Prince

Andy Prozes

Sheikh Rahman

Rep. Nikki Randall

Stephanie Ray

Richard Ray

Kasim Reed

Sally Rosser

Paul Rosser

David Scott

Katherine Seelman

Rutherford Seydel

Laura Turner Seydel

Sen. Freddie Powell Sims

Pradeep Sinha

Adam Smith

Rep. Calvin Smyre

Steve Stephens

Rep. Pamela Stephenson

Sen. Horacena Tate

Rep. Erica Thomas

Andrea Young Thomas

Zan Thornton

Otis Threatt

Michael Thurmond

Sarah Todd

Teresa Tomlinson

Rep. Bob Trammell

Ivory Watts

Mary Lou Waymer

Adrienne White

Mack Wilbourn

Rep. David Wilkerson

Nikema Williams

Cheryl Williams

Al Williams

Keith Wilson

David Worley

Andrew Young

Carolyn Young





View Comments 3