Top vote-getter in Tuesday’s primary was a Barnes

May 24, 2016 Atlanta - DeKalb County voters go to the polls at Henderson Mill Elementary School on Georgia’s primary election day Tuesday morning, May 24, 2016. The DeKalb CEO, District attorney and several other races are on the ballot, as well as an extension of the DeKalb schools E-Splost. HYOSUB SHIN / HSHIN@AJC.COM

DeKalb County voters cast ballots Tuesday at Henderson Mill Elementary School HYOSUB SHIN / HSHIN@AJC.COM

The top vote-getter in Tuesday’s Georgia primary might be a surprise to some. But it probably shouldn’t be.

Court of Appeals Justice Anne Elizabeth Barnes, pictured at right, received more than 778

Court of Appeals Justice Anne Elizabeth Barnes. GEORGIA COURT OF APPEALS

Court of Appeals Justice Anne Elizabeth Barnes. GEORGIA COURT OF APPEALS

,000 votes, the most of any individual on the ballot. The judge, first elected in 1998, also received more votes than anyone in 2010, according to her official bio.

That’s just one of the interesting tidbits to be found in analyzing data from Tuesday’s vote. Others:

Judges dominated the top three spots in total votes. Following Barnes, in order, were Supreme Court Justice David Nahmias and Appeals Court Justice Chris McFadden.

Not surprisingly, U.S. Sen. Johnny Isakson ranked high as well. Despite two challengers in the GOP primary, Isakson, who took more than 77 percent of the vote, was fourth on the list with more than 446,000 votes.

The 55,000 votes U.S. Rep. Sanford Bishop, D-Albany, received were more than any other member of Congress. U.S. Rep. Rob Woodall, R-Lawrenceville, received 24,000 votes, the least of any sitting U.S. House member. Neither had primary opposition.

Among state lawmakers, Sen. Steve Gooch, R-Dahlonega, received 20,000 votes in a contested primary, the most of any legislator. On the House side, Rep. Mack Jackson, a Sandersville Democrat, received the most votes: 8,165. Jackson ran unopposed.

On the other side of the ledger, Sen. Curt Thompson, D-Tucker, was re-elected with just 1,195 votes. Thompson, who had a tumultuous year, ran unopposed. On the House side, Rep. Dewey McClain, D-Lawrenceville, won re-election with just 339 votes. Wow.

View Comments 0