Marco Rubio adds to Georgia leadership team

Republican presidential candidate Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Fla. . AP/Jim Cole

Republican presidential candidate Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Fla. . AP/Jim Cole

Marco Rubio’s support in Georgia is growing. The Florida senator’s campaign this morning will roll out the names of two dozen state and local officials endorsing his bid for the Republican presidential nomination.

The full list is below, but top names include House Health and Human Services Chairwoman Sharon Cooper, R-Marietta, Reps. John Corbett, R-Lake Park, Robert Dickey, R-Musella, Barry Fleming, R-Harlem, Jason Shaw, R-Lakeland, and Sen. Tommie Williams, R-Lyons.

That’s a nice slice of Metro Atlanta and rural lawmakers. You’ll also see U.S. Rep. Lynn Westmoreland on the full list, but you already knew the retiring congressman was going to back Rubio.


“The momentum behind Marco’s campaign is undeniable, and we are excited to add an impressive list of Georgia leaders to the team today,” said U.S. Rep. Austin Scott, Marco’s Georgia State chairman, said in a release, an advance copy of which was obtained by The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Scott will lead a news conference at the Capitol this morning to unveil the new support.

Here are the new members of Rubio’s Georgia team: 
U.S. Representative Lynn Westmoreland
Mike Beaudreau – Former Gwinnett County Commissioner
Brian Brodrick – Watkinsville City Councilman
State Senator Dean Burke – Bainbridge
State Representative Sharon Cooper – Marietta
State Representative John Corbett – Lake Park
State Representative Robert Dickey – Musella
Mayor Bill Dunaway – Former Mayor of Marietta
Mayor Steve Edwards – Mayor of Sugar Hill
State Representative Barry Fleming – Harlem
Councilman Dick Goodman – Suwannee City Council
Bob Irvin – Atlanta, Former State House Republican Leader
Matthew Krull – Douglas County Solicitor General
State Representative Chuck Martin – Alpharetta
Councilwoman Linnea Miller – Suwannee City Councilwoman
State Representative Randy Nix – LaGrange
Councilman Derek Norton – Smyrna City Councilman
State Representative Jesse Petrea – Savannah
State Representative Tom Rice – Norcross
State Representative Jason Shaw – Lakeland
Jerry Shearin – Former Paulding County Chairman
State Representative Ron Stephens -Savannah
Will Wade – Dawson County School Board Chairman
State Senator Tommie Williams – Lyons
Stone Workman – Monticello Mayor Pro Tempore

Previously announced Rubio supporters from Georgia: 

State Representative Buzz Brockway – Lawrenceville
Jace Brooks – Gwinnett County Commissioner
State Representative Michael Caldwell – Woodstock
Chuck Clay – Former Georgia GOP Chairman, State Senator and Cobb County Commissioner
Zakery Daniel – Hampton City Councilman
Dick Donovan – Paulding County District Attorney
State Representative Mike Dudgeon – Cumming
State Representative Geoff Duncan – Cumming
State Representative Chuck Efstration – Dacula
State Representative Gerald Greene – Cuthbert
Brandon Hembree – Sugar Hill City Councilman
State Senator Judson Hill – Marietta
State Senator Rick Jeffares – Locust Grove
State Representative Trey Kelly – Cedartown
Ryan Leonard – Douglas County Assistant District Attorney
State Senator PK Martin – Lawrenceville
Rey Martinez – Loganville City Councilman
State Representative Howard Maxwell – Dallas
Mayor Teresa Philyaw – Mayor of Hiram
State Representative Matt Ramsey – Peachtree City, State House Majority Whip
State Representative Bert Reeves – Marietta
Vic Reynolds – Cobb County District Attorney
Gabriel Sterling – Sandy Springs City Councilman
Shannon Wallace – Cherokee County District Attorney
Cris Eaton-Welsh – Kennesaw City Councilwoman
State Representative Bill Werkheiser – Glennville


View Comments 0